Groups: How to share tickets among users/contacts

In Mojo Helpdesk, users/contacts can be assigned to a group to organize them by team, company, or department.

Why use groups?

  • Reporting: Track metrics such as the number of tickets submitted by a group or average response time to that group
  • Restrict ticket submission: Limit a form to be used only by a specific group
  • Ticket Sharing: By default, users can only see their own tickets. However, users can be given Group Access to view and comment on tickets submitted by others in the same group

Group Access

  • A user/contact can only belong to one group at a time. Any tickets created by that user will exist in their personal group.
  • However, they can be granted Group Access (comment or full access) to additional groups.
    • Comment only: Can view and comment on group tickets.
    • Full access: Can view, comment on, and close group tickets.

To allow ticket sharing

Step 1: Enable Group Access option

  1. Click on the waffle icon on the upper right
  2. Select Account administration
  3. On the left nav bar, select Help desk > Settings
  4. Scroll down to  Miscellaneous settings
  5. Toggle Enable group access option

Step 2: Create the group

  • The recommended method for assigning multiple users to the correct group especially when creating new users is through a CSV import. This process can create and update users in bulk, and will also create any missing groups automatically.
    • Note: When a group is created, it will not have access to any queues by default. Be sure to configure queue access as outlined below (Queue Access).
  • Alternatively, users can be assigned to groups individually:
    • First, create the group (if not yet created):
      1. Click on the waffle icon on the upper right
      2. Select Contacts
      3. Select Contact groups
      4. Select + new
      5. Enter group name
      6. Click save
    • (Queue Access) To configure queue access for the group:
      1. Click the unlock icon to manage access for the group
      2. Select the queues the group should have access to for creating tickets

A walkthrough from the ticket list to the Manage Groups page, which lists each group and the queues it can access.

Step 4: Assign users to a group and configure group access

Assign the user to a group.

  1. Click on the waffle icon on the upper right
  2. Select Contacts
  3. Click on the user's profile
  4. Go to role and permissions
  5. Scroll down to  Group Access
  6. Click on the pencil icon to configure the user's group
  7. Select the desired group

Configure which groups the user should have access to.

  1. Next to Manage group access, select + add 
  2. Select the group
  3. Select the type of access: comment only or full access
  4. Click add
  5. Repeat as needed to give the user access to many groups

A walkthrough opening a contact's role and permissions tab and adding them to a group under Group Access.

The granted access will now appear in the user's profile, showing the group name and access level.

The Group Access panel on a user's profile, showing the group they belong to and their full access level.

What the user will see

On the Help Center:

  • Users will see their own open and closed tickets
  • They will also see an option to view tickets submitted by other users in groups they have access to (ex. SKCompany)
  • Based on their access level, they can view, comment, or resolve those tickets

The user portal My Tickets list, showing a contact's own open and solved tickets.

The user portal group view, listing all tickets belonging to the SKCompany group that the contact can see.