Managing Ticket and Comment Deletion

This article explains what user roles can delete tickets and comments, how to allow deletion as admin, and how to delete tickets and comments.

Help desk ticket deletion settings

By default, agents with an Admin role can delete tickets.

To disable ticket deletion entirely:

  1. Navigate to the waffle icon in the upper right corner
  2. Select Account Administration > Tickets > Settings
  3. Navigate to Tickets deletion
  4. Toggle Allow ticket deletion

The Tickets deletion section of ticket settings, with the Allow ticket deletion toggle switched on and circled.

Allow agents to delete

To give agents the ability to delete tickets and comments, admins can toggle:  Allow agents to delete tickets and comments

If enabled, all agents can delete ticket and comments.

The Tickets deletion section with the Allow agents to delete tickets and comments toggle circled and switched off.

How to delete a ticket

  1. Navigate to a ticket list
  2. Select the ticket/s to be deleted
  3. If ticket deletion is enabled, a trash bin icon will pop up. Click the trash icon

A ticket list with several tickets selected and the trash bin icon arrowed in the toolbar.

The trash

Once a ticket is deleted, it moves to the trash. Tickets in the trash are permanently deleted after 30 days.

Agents must have an Admin or Manager role to view the trash and restore deleted tickets.

To access the trash: Waffle icon > Trash

The apps menu open from the top bar, with the Trash option highlighted.

How to delete a comment or staff note

  1. Navigate to the comment or staff note to be deleted
  2. Click the 3 vertical dots icon (⋮) in the upper right
  3. Select delete

Note: Deleted comments and staff notes cannot be recovered.

A ticket comment with its three-dot menu open and the delete option arrowed.

Related articles